• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Mail
  • Copy URL Link copied
  • Text Message
  • Reddit

The 2016 Black Girls Rock! ceremony will honor Grammy Award winner Rihanna with the Rock Star Award during the April 1 taping at the New Jersey Performing Arts Center in Newark, New Jersey.

Premiering on BET on Tuesday, April 5, 2016 at 8:00 P.M, other honorees include ShondaLand producer and writer Shonda Rhimes, who will receive the Shot Caller Award, R&B legend Gladys Knight for the Living Legend Award, The Walking Dead actress Danai Gurira will receive the Star Power Award,  activist Amandla Stenberg will receive the Young Gifted and Black Award, and Black Lives Matter founders Patrisse Cullors, Alicia Garza, and Opal Tometi will receive the Community Change Agent Award.

Founded by celebrity DJ, model and executive producer Beverly Bond, Black Girls Rock! celebrates the achievements of Black women who have broken barriers in the areas of art, music, philanthropy and community service, celebrating its 10 year anniversary and its sixth televised broadcast on BET Networks.


The 2015 “BLACK GIRLS ROCK!™”celebrants included: Jada Pinkett Smith (Star Power Award), Erykah Badu (Rock Star Award), Ava DuVernay (Shot Caller Award), Cicely Tyson (Living Legend Award), Dr. Helene D. Gayle (Social Humanitarian Award) and Nadia Lopez (Change Agent Award).

Visit and for more information.

Photo credit: Getty Images