It’s the return of the Da.I.S.Y. age. After depicting the death of the Da.I.S.Y. on the cover of 1991’s De La Soul Is Dead, the trio decided to revive it.

De La fans have been treated very well as of lately. On Valentine’s Day, the world was blessed with De La Soul‘s entire catalog. In hindsight, this was to prepare us for more. Now, not only do we have more music from the Long Island group, we also have more from the legendary J Dilla as they unite for their latest mixtape, Smell The D.A.I.S.Y. According to Posdnuos in an interview with Rolling Stone, “Dilla was the Tupac of producers.” Not the controversial, legally troubled Tupac. But, the Tupac known to be a workaholic. The Tupac that, ten years after his death, can still release an album with all new music. Plug One further added that “[Dilla] has so many unreleased things that no one has heard. His family knows how vital and important an ingredient his music was to our work.”

Thanks to the late, great James Yancy, we can now reunite with “da inner sound, y’all.”

The new collaboration has only one listed feature and it’s the Funk Doctor Spock, Redman –who is getting ready to release a sequel to his classic Muddy Waters.

Also, according to Rolling Stone, A new LP (You’re Welcome, their first since 2004’s The Grind Date) is expected to drop this summer, and a six-song EP, “Preemium Soul on the Rocks” (which features three beats each from DJ Premier and Pete Rock) is also planned for this year.

-Jamaal Fisher (@jamaalfisher)

Smell the Da.I.S.Y. track list

1. Let the King Ascend
2. Who [ft. Redman]
3. Dilla Plugged In
4. Goes the Word
5. Vocabulary Spills
6. The Pitch
7. Taking the Train
8. Leave Your Cares Behind
9. O’Shut Up
10. No More No Less
11. Marvin Jaye

Download the Mixtape for free HERE!