Forest WhitakerThe 23rd Annual Gotham Independent Film Awards, presented by the The Independent Filmmaker Project was held at Cipriani Wall Street this week. 

It was a  star-studded evening as Lee Daniels, Ryan Coogler, Melonie Diaz, Michael B. Jordan, Forest Whitaker, Isaiah Washington, Lupita Nyong’o and Rashida Jones were all in attendance.

While it didn’t win, “12 Years A Slave” was nominated for Best Feature, Best Actor for Chiwetel Ejiofor, and Lupita Nyong’o was nominated for Breakthrough Actor. 

It was also another momentous evening for the “Fruitvale Station” crew as Director Ryan Coogler won Breakthrough Director and Michael B. Jordan won Breakthrough Actor. The film’s producer Forest Whitaker was in attendance, in addition to cast mate Melonie Diaz.

Another film, which received a lot of buzz this year, “Blue Caprice” garnered an acting nomination for Isaiah Washington, who also executive produced the film and a nomination for Director Alexandre Moors who is known for collaborating with Kanye West and had directed many notable music videos.

One highlight of the evening was when Lee Daniels presented Forest Whitaker with his much-deserved special tribute award. Another touching moment was James Gandolfini’s tribute helmed by Steve Buscemi. Gandolfini’s widow and son accepted the award.

The evening was presented by euphoria Calvin Klein, FIJI Water, Russian Standard Vodka and Mionetto Prosecco.

euphoria Calvin Klein Presents the 2013 Gotham Awards
jordan,michael-b-calvin-klein-collection-ifp-euphoria-calvin klein-gotham awards-120213-ph_weiss,sara-jaye
whitaker,forest-calvin-klein-collection-ifp-euphoria-calvin klein-gotham awards-120213-ph_weiss,sara-jaye
euphoria Calvin Klein Presents the 2013 Gotham Awards
Amy Poehler Rashida Jones-2
Steve Buscemi Forest Whitaker Michael B. Jordan
Forest Whitaker